Bangladesh wins toss to bat 1st in 2nd test vs West Indies

DHAKA, Bangladesh — Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and decided to bat first in the second and final test against West Indies on Friday.Looking to win its first test series against any side except Zimbabwe since 2009, Bangladesh made two changes from the squad that won the first test by 64 runs.Opener Shadman Islam was given his test debut and Liton Das was brought into the side, replacing injured opener Imrul Kayes and fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman. That meant Bangladesh, for the first time, went into a test without a frontline pace bowler.West Indies brought in pace bowler Shermon Lewis to replace banned fast bowler Shannon Gabriel. Gabriel was suspended from the second test after making “inappropriate and deliberate physical contact” with Bangladesh batsman Imrul Kayes during the first test.___Lineups:Bangladesh: Shadman Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mithun, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan.West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Sunil Ambris, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Shane Dowrich, Jomel Warrican, Devendra Bishoo, Kemar Roach, Shermon Lewis.Umpires: Aleem Dar, Pakistan, and Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Sri Lanka.TV umpire: Richard Illingworth, England. Match Referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.___More AP sports: and Associated Press read more

Read More →